You are here: BFF News The Third Bangladesh Junior Science Olympiad (BDJSO 2017) held

The Third Bangladesh Junior Science Olympiad (BDJSO 2017) held

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

The Third Bangladesh Junior Science Olympiad (BDJSO 2017) was inaugurated at the University of Asia Pacific in the capital on 12 August 2017 with an objective to select 50 junior scientists out of 481 participants. Six selected contestants from primarily selected 50 junior scientists will take part in the 14th International Junior Science Olympiad ( IJSO2017)  that is to be held in Amsterdam, Netherlands on 02-10 December, 2017. The contestants will have to go through a number of workshops, camps and grooming programs conducted by the organisers..

The program has been jointly organized by Bangladesh Freedom Foundation (BFF) and The Popularisation of science in Bangladesh (SPSB) each year. This year Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited is sponsoring the Olympiad while Bigganchinta of Prothom Alo is the magazine partner of the Program.

The Honorable Chairman of Bangladesh Freedom foundation (BFF) and the Vice chancellor of University of Asia Pacific Prominent Educationist Professor Dr. Jamilur Reza Choudhury have inaugurated the National phase of the program. He said in his inauguration speech that no nation can flourish without achieving development in science.

This Year a Number of 9 regional Olympiads at Dinajpur, Mymensingh, Rajshahi, Barisal, Khulna Chittagong, Sylhet, Dhaka, and Laxmipur were also organized by the organizer. The 481 contestants of the ‘Third Bangladesh Junior Science Olympiad’ were selected in two phases - regional phases and e-olympiad. Regional phases were held in nine major cities in the country. A total of 5,500 participants took part in that olympiad.

BFF trustee board member eminent biologist and writer Dr. Rezaur Rahman, SPSB Vice President and the Convener of Junior Science Olympiad 2017 Mr. Munir Hasan, Manging Director of Al-Arafah Islami Bank Limited Mr. Habibur Rahman, Deputy Managing Director Mr. Kazi Tawhid Ul Alam, Executive Director of BFF Mr. Sazzadur Rahman Chowdhury and General Secretary of SPSP Farseem Mannan Mohammadi also addressed the ceremony.

Names of 50 selected contestants were declared in the closing session of the Olympiad.

Related Video

AddThis Social Bookmark Button